I have five daughters…
April 2, 2008, 1:26 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

… at least, I have five daughters this week.

When we agreed to host a Japanese student for a week, I really had no idea what to expect. I did know I would have to turf out daughter#1 from her bed so we could put our visitor in to share with daughter#2 and her designated school buddy, and I also knew it was going to involve a lot of cleaning before the event. (Do you have any idea how much I hate cleaning? I’m not a housewife – I never married a house!)

What I didn’t know is how much I could grow to love someone else’s child in just one week. I am in awe of how brave Momoko was when we first met, even though clearly nervous about meeting her host family and of being whisked away to goodness knows where with them.  I am in awe of her parents who sent their child to another hemisphere to live with a family of total strangers.  But I thank them so much, from the bottom of my heart.

Momoko has enriched our lives and our family. She has brought us together in a new way, to share our lives and our special environment with her. Together we’ve seen koalas and fairy penguins, fed the school chooks and collected the eggs and petted the orphan kangaroos my parents look after.  Together we’ve learned about another family and how they live in another city far from here. Together we’ve all learned something.

Momoko flies back to Japan and her real family tomorrow and we will be sorry. One week is nowhere near enough.

I always thought four daughters was plenty. I was wrong. This week I am proud to say I have five daughters.

And just to prove I haven’t forgotten – koala count zip – it’s a wild and blustery day and the koalas have battened down the hatches out there 

Listening to: Leonard Cohen, feeling a little melancholy 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Trish, I’m sure Momoko will always treasure her stay with your mob and that your girls will always remember her. So, you looking to adopt now?

Comment by yvonnelindsay

LOL Yvonne! I loved having Momoko stay, but I don’t know if I’d go that far. What I will say is that it’s been such a positive experience for us all that we’re definitely down for another exchange student in the coming months.

Very sad morning when I dropped Momoko off at school for her last day here. Her group flies out this afternoon. Safe journey, Momoko!

Comment by Trish Morey

Trish – that was just a gorgeous post!!! And I can’t imagine how scary it must be letting you child across to country to stay with complete strangers, but I’m sure Momoko enjoyed her time with you as much as you with her!!

Comment by Rach!

Thanks Rach. I think she did. It was so hard though, dropping her at school. Apparently there were tears all round when the girls all said goodbye this afternoon. Just as well I wasn’t there!

Comment by Trish Morey




Leave a Reply

