Greetings from Revisionland
June 3, 2008, 10:50 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

Koalas sighted – zilch, though plenty of spots under where they’d been, if you know what I mean:-))

Listening to – Norah Jones, come away with me

The book is back. Together with a list of revisions longer than my leg. Okay, I admit it, I have short legs but it’s still a long list!  Though to be fair they were revisions I knew I’d have to do to really make the book sing. So the good news is that my editor can see there’s something worth digging for in the manuscript, some promise of something publication worthy emerging eventually from the mire that it currently is.

The bad news is I have been having a lovely few days not stressing about the manuscript, and playing instead on google finding accommodation for our family for our big trip later in the year – today I booked our apartment in Paris – yay! – but now that all has to stop as I get stuck into revisions. The great thing about revisions though, is that honing, and polishing and really crafting a story that works on every level. Sometimes it’s incredibly frustrating too, as changes domino through the manuscript, or when a solution just refuses to be found, but I’m a firm believer that there’s always an answer, and that it’s just waiting to be uncovered.

But deadset, I’m coming back as a travel agent next time! What a neat job, booking travel all over the world. Almost as much fun as making up stories for a living:-))

Happy June to you, wherever you are in the world. And if you’ve ever thought about it, and if you had another shot, what would you like to come back as?

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ohhh, Trish, a trip to Europe with the family…how WONDERFUL!
I like the idea of coming back as a travel writer…that way I would get to go the places. As the agent I would spend too much time planning other people’s holidays and that’s no fun 🙂

Comment by fionalowe2000

Good point, Fiona. Travel writers get to check out the most fabulous places and it’s their job! Cool choice.

And yes, we’re all very much looking forward to our big adventure. Slight matter of a book to write between now and then and revisions on this one to knock it into shape, but definitely good incentive to get it done:-)

Comment by trishmorey




Leave a Reply

