Surfing the Wave – aka Deep in Revisions
June 8, 2008, 3:08 am
Filed under: Uncategorized, Writing life | Tags: ,

There are several stages of revisions.

There’s the first stage, the thank-goodness-the-editor-thinks-it-worth-fixing stage, where any amount of revisions looks one heck of a lot more fun than a straight out R

Then there’s the let’s-think-about-this-stage, where I walk the pooch, run through scenarios, think about how to incorporate the changes while keeping the core of my story intact.

Moving on, we have the circling-the-computer stage, where I know I have to get started but nnnnnh, haven’t I seen that book enough already?

And sooner or later you get to the I-can’t-put-this-off-any-longer stage. Also known as the-editor-wants-it-back stage. Then you know you just have to turn on the sodding computer and get started.

I’m a bit further along than that. I’m at the point-of-no-return stage, where I love what’s happening with my book but it feels like it’s a rolling tidal wave surging through the story, gathering momentum as it goes, and I know it’s going to get harder to bring it all together to make a new, clearer kind of sense, the closer I get to the end. I just hope I can hang on and ride this wave right through to the end, rather than end up being wiped out.

It’s time like these I really wish I could surf…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Surf, smurf. You’ve finished, yes?

SO HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!

Comment by Yvonne Lindsay

Thanks Yvonne!

The revisions are done, the ms is gone, Trish is a happy camper :-))

It’s been a busy day catching up on life, the Universe and everything, but I will be posting again shortly. Stay tuned:-))

Comment by Trish Morey




Leave a Reply

