Going to Nationals – Pt 1 – The Hula Girls hit Hawaii
August 8, 2008, 12:32 am
Filed under: Conference, Travel, Writing life | Tags:
hula girls

hula girls

Aloha! After ten  hours hard yakka attempting to sleep on the plane, the Hula Girls touched down in Honolulu for a bit of well-earned R&R. Who are the Hula Girls? We have from left, Bronwyn Jameson (Sil Desire), Alison Roberts (HM&B Medicals), Kelly Hunter (Mod Extra/ Presents/RITA finalist!), moi and Fiona McArthur (HM&B Medicals).
A two night stopover on the way to San Francisco wasn’t just for fun – it was a great way to break up the journey from Australia and ensure we were ready to rock and roll when we touched down in San Francisco. (Those RWANational conferences are full on from the get go.) Plus it was a great chance to do some on-the ground-research. My current story, The Greek’s Virgin Princess (working title) is set largely in Honolulu, so it was great to get the chance to check it out for myself.
And boy, did we research.:-)
All that slaving over a hot balcony, whether it was checking out the view of the pool below from our room,
a room with a view

a room with a view

 or the view of Diamond Head in the distance,
the views just get better...

the views just get better...

or the fire dancer at the Monday night show, it was all great research.
you call this research?

You call this research?

In face, we enjoyed researching this particular aspect of Hawaiian culture so much, we forced ourself to sit through two performances. I’m sure I’m going to be able to use him somewhere in this book.
Here he is in full flight when evening set in…  I have to admit, he was definitely a highlight:-))
out of the darkness...

out of the darkness...

And after just two short nights (way too short a stay) it was time to say a hui hou to Honolulu so we duly boarded our flight to San Francisco, a short 5 hour hop skip and a jump away. I’ll leave you with a parting sunset shot taken from the beach –
sunset from the shore

sunset from the shore

 

I’ll cover the San Francisco conference soon. Meanwhile, in a PS to my Shepparton Moooving Art exhibition I mentioned a couple of weeks back, it seems the blog was picked up by the Shepparton News and earned a brief article on page 2 of their Thursday July 24 edition. From Shep one week to Hawaii the next, this gal gets around. (bg) But right now I have a Greek waiting for his story to be told. Enjoy my slice of Hawaiian life and I’ll catch you soon!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Trish

How jealous am I? But keep posting… I can’t wait to hear all about the conf and get even greener with envy!
RACH!

Comment by Rachael Blair

Thanks Rach! It actually made so much sense breaking up the trip that way. Definitely the way to make long haul flights bearable.

I better dig some pix of SF out and post another blog. Stay tuned!

Comment by trishmorey

Great pics, Trish. Research is tough isn’t it 🙂
Love Hawaii, it’s one of my fovourite places to visit.

Chris.

Comment by Anonymous

Chris, it was my first time in Hawaii, but I can promise you it won’t be my last. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can see why it’s one of your favourite places. 2 nights was way too short a visit:-)

Comment by trishmorey




Leave a Reply

