Something I never knew about Hawaii…
August 18, 2008, 12:29 am
Filed under: Conference, Travel, Uncategorized, Writing life | Tags: ,

We interrupt this (occasional) recount of RWANationals for something curious I discovered in Hawaii. I’d always seen Hawaii in terms of surfboards, cabana boys and palm trees (shallow – moi?) but I was missing an entire sub-culture (and I’m not talking the fire dancer:-))

I’m talking ukuleles. Those baby guitars with attitude. Apparently they’re hot property in Hawaii. Discount chain stores sell the super cheap souvenir version, huge shops in major shopping malls are devoted to them. I kid you not. Ukulele shops.  Of course.

And even in Borders, that temple for the reader, what did I find? Something that tripped my switches – here it is, a DVD like no other…

And why not?

And why not?

I’m kicking myself I didn’t buy it.

Plus I’m making a mental note of the word ukulele for the next time I’m stuck in scrabble with a clutch of the world’s otherwise most useless letters.

The sun is shining down on the Adelaide Hills today – a rare event given the last few weeks of rain, sleet and hail – and the pooch is walked and back in bed (what a life). I’m off to the Aussie conference in just three days, so I must get busy with my Greek. He thinks he’s marrying someone else, poor love. He’s not taking to the heroine’s presence very well at all:-))

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi, Trish! I finished The Italian Boss’s Mistress of Revenge — and it was GREAT! I loved Mackenzi, how strong she was, and of course Dante was yummy! I was sorry to finish. 😦

I lived in Hawaii for 3 years. Sometimes, I miss it. *sigh* There was a time, when I was at the grocery store, where this kid had obviously been forced to go with his mother. The entire time, he played a ukulele. It was very nice! It was just kind of funny to see him strolling around behind her, strumming that thing.

And if you like the ukulele, Google this: Jake Shimabukuro. Find a video of him playing While My Guitar Gently Weeps. He is magic on the ukulele!

Comment by lynnrayeharris

Hi Lynn, how great you dropped by, and thanks so much! I’m absolutely chuffed you enjoyed The Italian Boss’s Mistress of Revenge! I so enjoyed writing that book, it’s great to hear that readers do too, especially readers who know so much about the line as you do.

Living in Hawaii must have been a great experience. I love the picture of that little boy following his mother, strumming on his ukulele. They do say music soothes the savage beast:-))

I can see I am definitely going to have to check out Jake Shimabukuro!

Comment by Trish Morey

Trish, I am so blonde. I just realized in looking at the picture of the DVD you have there, the artist IS Jake Shimabukuro. LOL!!! But still Google him playing the George Harrison song. 🙂

Can’t wait for your next Presents!

Comment by Lynn Raye Harris




Leave a Reply

