I heart Chania
October 1, 2008, 11:27 am
Filed under: Travel, Uncategorized, Writing life | Tags: , , ,

In the last three weeks, the moreymob has traveled to some fabulous locations and seen some amazing sights. Together we’ve traversed the streets of Rome, climbed the Eiffel Tower and clambered all over the Acropolis. And while every place we’ve visited has been special and has given us memories we will cherish forever, nowhere has left us feeling so sigh-worthy as our current location – Chania, Crete.

In the last few days here, we’ve swum in the Mediterranean, enjoyed calamari by the boatload and sipped on Retsina and Raki that made our eyes water. And nowhere has felt more special.

Why is that? I”m not sure. I only know that I loved it when we visited fourteen years ago and I love it even more now. Maybe it helps that we’re staying in the old town, within the walls of the ancient harbour town and right across the road an archaeological team is hard at work uncovering the Minoan city of Kydonia, something like three thousand years old. Streets, paths and steps have been unearthed, evidence that centuries ago this place was a thriving harbour town, maybe with less of the tourists, but no doubt no less bustling.

It’s a fascinating place to stay, and not just because of Chania’s rich history. The sky is blue and endless and reminds us of Australia. We crumple eucalyptus leaves in our hands on the way to the beach and smell the trees of home. The sea is blue and fresh and salt and blowing away the city smells of the last few weeks. And the tomatoes, olives and fetta cheese are to die for.

And I know for a fact it won’t be fourteen long years till I’m back.

Tomorrow we move onto Heraklion, the capital of Crete, after treating ourselves and the kids to a visit to the Minoan palace of Knossos. Then Santorini awaits. I’m not sure about internet connections for the next few days, so once again it might be a few days until I can post again. Which is probably a good thing as I’m still working on revisions. Not the easiest task while on holidays, but necessary:-((

But before I leave, I have to say a quick happy birthday to my Dad, back home in Adelaide. Happy Birthday Dad! See you in a couple of weeks:-))

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It sounds wonderful, Trish.
Enjoy your time with hubby and kids – I can’t wait to have you home.
cxxxxxxxxxxxx

Comment by carol marinelli

Happy birthday to Trish’s dad!

Trish, Chania sounds sublime. I never had the big travel bug in my late teens early twenties as most of my contemporaries did…I think it’s been lying dormant in my system and guess what? You’ve woken it up, big time! 😀

So glad you’re having such a spectacular time. Keep it up!

Comment by yvonnelindsay

Trish, love this post. I close my eyes and I can smell the eucalyptus and the sea and taste the sharp feta and olives.

Next time, I’m packing myself in your suitcase!

Bron

Comment by Bronwyn Jameson

Trish – your travels sounds wonderful – enjoy!!! (and all the best with your revisions)

Cheers, Joanne 🙂

Comment by Joanne

Lovely blog post–but where are the pics? We want pics! The Morey “wiggles” girls do knossos! (without the bulls)

Comment by Anne Gracie

Hi,Trish
I realy sure that where ever you travel,you never forget Crete.The best island of Greece.
CreteFan

Comment by kretafan




Leave a Reply

