Ruby Tuesday

Well, I’m back from a week and a half away, two conferences in two different countries and a visit to my sister in between. Right now I’m reacquainting myself with the washing machine. We’ve a lot to catch up on:-))

As I have a lot to catch up on! The Brisbane Romance Writers of Australia was fantastic – I really think it was our best ever conference. Partly it was because of the superb organisation (thank you, Conference committee!) partly our superb guests from overseas – Mary Jo Putney, Mary Theresa Hussey and Melissa Jeglinski – but also down to meeting up with very special writing friends. Here’s a pic of some of them – five of us RBY finalists before the big announcement –

from left: Fiona McArthur (sweet), Anne Gracie (long), Carol Marinelli (sexy), Marion Lennox - in front - (sweet) and me

from left: Fiona McArthur (sweet), Anne Gracie (long), Carol Marinelli (sexy), Marion Lennox - in front - (sweet) and me

 It was a crying shame we couldn’t all win, and some kind of wonderful that not just one but three of us won in three different categories. Here we are with our trophies, a little worse for wear after a long night of tension, but justifiably thrilled.

Marion Lennox (Short Sweet winner), Anne Gracie (Long Romance winner) and me behind with my Short Sexy trophy.

Marion Lennox (Short Sweet winner), Anne Gracie (Long Romance winner) and me behind with my Short Sexy trophy.

It was one exciting night for me, but not only because of the RuBY, for shortly before this announcement was made, I was honoured to be awarded Honorary Life Membership of RWA for services to the organisation over the past few years. It was impossible not to tear up and I haven’t a clue what I said in my speech, but hearing my name called out was a moment I’ll treasure forever, along with my Honorary Member pin.

RWAustralia is a fabulous organisation. We have the best authors, the best conferences, the best people. Joining was one of the best things I have ever done. If you’re a romance writer downunder, it’ll be the best $82.50 you’ll invest in your career every year.

Next post, the NZ conference! Stay tuned.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

at last, some photos, you look magnificent, love the colour mix.
Congrats again.
My computer is tough to operate at the moment.
Noeleen

Comment by Noeleen Hankinson

Welcome back Trish and yay again with your win…it was so exciting to be there. Love the photos.

Comment by Eleni Konstantine

Congratulations on your win, Trish. I haven’t read the book but I’m sure it’s a wll deserved win.

Chris.

Comment by Chris

Thanks for the congrats, everyone! It was lovely to attend the conferences, but gosh, it’s lovely to be home again, even if it is to revisions:-)) You kind of forget the hard work of writing when you’re catching up with all your mates at conference.

Comment by trishmorey




Leave a Reply

