A tale of two Mangas
September 22, 2009, 7:04 am
Filed under: Translations, Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

When I was away in conference land recently, my second Manga arrived! Now after my first one, a Manga version of The Spaniard’s Blackmailed Bride, I knew exactly what to expect – a doe eyed heroine, dashing pointy chinned hero and a puppy with floppy ears so cute you automatically went, awwwwwww.

Here’s the front and back covers…

manga frontmanga back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gorgeous, aren’t they! And so romantic. So I really was expecting the same kind of treatment when my second lobbed in, the Manga version of The Greek’s Virgin.  Boy, was I in for a shock! I guess I should have had a clue merely by the cover treatment…

Manga TGV backManga - the Greek's Virgin

 

This one is flagged Passion in top left corner, rather than Romance on the first, and straight away this one is more intense, that hero is dripping with angst! And as the back cover treatment, where are the flowers, the smiles? And she’s almost, oh boy, naked! It’s from the opening scene, where Saskia, our heroine, is flung from Alexander’s bed when she makes the huge mistake of admitting she loves him. She is left devastated and totally humiliated and no wonder it’s such a dark dark scene.

Then I opened up the book and WOW.  Now I understand why they also call Manga graphic novels, because this one is, um, graphic! I’d show a couple of the inside pages, but this is a family blog, and I’m sure you get the idea. Needless to say, my mother’s eyes bulged and my girls were shocked! (It’s always satisfying to shock your teenage children, don’t you think? Makes such a pleasant change:-))

So I learned something in all this. Whereas my stories have a similar level of sensuality, not all Mangas are the same.  And don’t show your mother or your teenage children until you know which is which:-))

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh so cool Trish and yes the second book it not as ‘tame’ as the first one. LOL at shocking your teenage kids.

Comment by Eleni Konstantine

They’re lovely, aren’t they, Eleni, and both so different. I would so love to see these on the shelves in Japan one day! (Maybe the top shelf, given the illustrations – lol)

Comment by trishmorey

Maybe next holiday – Japan!! 😉

Comment by Eleni Konstantine

Trish,

I’m agog at the thought of your ‘graphic’ novel! Both my mangas have had the romantic treatment so far, complete with a heroine in a floaty dress and big picture hat. I wonder how they decide which ones get the ‘passion’ treatment? Could it be the opening scene? Which makes me wonder if a recent book of mine, commencing with a ‘climactic’ scene (G), might get similar treatment to your book ‘The Greek’s Virgin’.

Trish, I’ve not doubt the Japanese readers will love both your books. I wonder if you’ve got any more in the works. Do let us know, won’t you?

Am still chuckling here at the thought of you shocking your teen daughters. Good on you!

Annie

Comment by Annie West

Annie, I’ve heard anecdotally that the books with more action scenes tend to be the ones made into Manga, which kind of makes sense, so I’d say your book with a little *action* happening early on, is a big chance:-))

Aren’t teens fun? After all the horror stories we were fed about teens and girl teens in particular, we are loving these years. Much more fun going shopping and eating out with a teen (a tad more expensive, perhaps, but definitely more fun)

Comment by Trish Morey

I think the fact that you shocked *your* teens speaks for itself, Trish.

And love the Mangas!

Comment by yvonnelindsay




Leave a Reply

