The “bonus” week
December 28, 2009, 7:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized, Writing life | Tags:

I love this time of year. Christmas and all its rush and panic and overeating (nb: the mango trifle was delish!) is behind us, and it’s a blessed few days before the excitement and partying of new year.

I always feel it’s like having a free week. Time to kick back and relax, chill out and watch the Melbourne Boxing Day test cricket or follow the adventures of those brave men and women who sail their yachts all the way down from Sydney to Hobart in the (not surprisingly titled) Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race.

In past years I’ve used this time to design my first website or give it a complete revamp. This year, after ignoring the mess that’s been piling up around me all year, it’s time to clean out the office. I’m planning a brand new (clean, uncluttered) start to 2010!

I started yesterday. Thought it would be a two day job. At the end of day two, I’m thinking it may well keep me busy till new year’s.  There is still all my accumulated filing from, oh, about two years back, and then there’s the in/pending/out trays on my desk that are always full and have been since about a month after I put them in, though strangely nothing ever seems to move between them. Can’t wait to tackle those.  And then there’s the four drawers on my desk – bursting full with goodness knows what? That should be a revelation.

I’m hoping this sudden clean out of all the rubbish in my office will free up some headspace as well. There are characters up there trying to talk to me. There is work to be done. When the office is clean and I can hear them properly again!

Meanwhile, I have a date with the filing cabinet, and then the vacuum cleaner. There is carpet in this office – who knew???

How are you spending this “bonus” week between Christmas and New Year?

I’m away for new year’s this year for a few days in what promises to be an excellent adventure with good friends up to the north Flinders Ranges and a little town called Parachilna. So let me say now –

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Trish, there’s something thoroughly freeing about a good clean out and it’s especially a start of the new year thing to do, I think.
You’ve inspired me.
Have a brilliant New Year, and may 2010 bring you all good things!

Comment by anne gracie

Definitely good for the soul, Anne! Not to mention the feng shui.

All the very best to you too, for the brand new year! Maybe it be everything you desire and more. And maybe a self cleaning office would be nice too…

Comment by trishmorey

Happy New Year to you and your family, Trish. I hope 2010 brings continued good health and much happiness’

Chris.

Comment by Chris

Thanks Chris! And right back at you. Here’s to a happy, healthy and productive 2010!

Comment by Trish Morey

I definitely need to do a big de-clutter and clean up of the study.

Hope your year has started of well!

Comment by Eleni Konstantine




Leave a Reply

