Venice
March 13, 2012, 8:57 am
Filed under: New releases, Travel, Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I’ve been thinking about Venice a lot lately. It’s the setting for my current work in progress, and if you’ve read Secrets of Castillo del Arco (out in the UK in Jan/Feb in Australia/New Zealand, you’ll know it’s a large part of that book as well (as well as scenes set on the windswept and barren Galician coast of Spain).

I first visited Venice in the mid 1990’s, while hubby’s job was based in the UK for 18 months. At the end of that trip, we and the three kids (that we knew about then – ha – little did we know!)  -aged 5, 3 and just 1, took a few weeks to travel around. We headed for Scotland seeing summer that year had been surprisingly long and seemingly endless, but that soon changed the moment we set foot in Scotland. We grew used to people saying through the mists and mizzle, “Ooch, you should a been here last week.”  And so we turned tail and headed for Italy (it’s not that big a distance by Aussie standards so not that daunting a road trip). We visited Florence and the hill towns of Volterra and San Gimignano and Pisa, and even Romeo and Juliet’s old town of Verona. While we were so close, we made a gorgeous day trip to Venice. I know, a day trip. Hardly time at all to explore such an amazing place, and yet such a glorious day that Venice stayed with me through the years, along with the desire to one day go back.

Secrets of Castillo del Arco gave me the chance to go back through my writing. I adored the research, revisiting the major sites and then some. And the more I researched, the more I knew there was to discover about this magical city – and not via fading memories and photographs of how it had been and not via books and the world wide web – but by actually being there and experiencing the magic first hand once again.

In October 2011 hubby and I made it back, and this time for five days. It was the most brilliant five days…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We stayed in a couple of gorgeous hotels overlooking the Grand Canal and had time to listen to the slap of water against the buildings, to see the sway of the piles in the wash from vaporettos, to hear the call of the birds at dawn after the church bells had rung out across the city and sent them from their roosts into the grey light of the morning. We had the time to explore and get lost, and found and lost again in the labyrinthian Venetian passageways.

And I just knew that I had barely skimmed the surface with Secrets of Castillo del Arco and I would just have to write another Venetian set story.

Which is where I am now, merging ideas and memories and imagination and hoping to come up with a story that does this amazing city of Venice justice.

Here’s hoping!

I’ll be uploading more photos of our Venetian trip soon, as I trawl through them for the gems that speak to me of this story. Stay tuned.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great post! I live 2 hour drive from Venice and, of course, I have been there a couple of times. The best of Venice I saw at 7 a.m.” no tourists, no crowds, simply people in hurry to go to work & sleepy shop owners. Although even less crowded during the day is an island in the Venetian Lagoon called Giudecca. It’s my favorite place in Venice.

Comment by Natalija

Natalija, that is one blissful time! I remember standing on my balcony over the canal just watching the sun rise and the night slowly peel away to the activity of a frenetic Venetian day. It was such a privilege to see the quiet side of Venice, to appreciate its stillness and its serenity.

Thanks for posting!

Comment by trishmorey

Trish, congratulations on your RITA nomination!! Will have my fingers crossed for you.

Chris.

Comment by Chris

Thanks so much Chris! It was the loveliest surprise, that’s for sure!

Comment by trishmorey




Leave a Reply

